#TeamTalk: Ed – platypus, pizza and Impractical Jokers!

Hi Ed! Thanks so much for taking the time to meet with me today. So can you tell us a bit about your background, how did you end up at the National Asbestos Helpline?

Hi Helen! So before I started at the National Asbestos Helpline I studied at the University of Lancaster and did a degree in International Relations. I then went on to work for a few different financial institutions but decided after 4 years that I needed a change.

So the reason I became interested in the NAH is because asbestos has affected me on a personal level. My dad used to work with asbestos at Round Oaks Steel Works in the Midlands before the dangers of asbestos were widely shared. Someone who worked at the same place as my dad ended up developing a very serious asbestos-related disease condition. So when I saw this opportunity to work for a helpline which assisted those affected by asbestos, I was really interested in working for them and, thankfully, I was accepted for the role.

How long have you been in your current role?

Two years – I brought in treats to celebrate!

Do you enjoy it and are there any challenges?

Yes, I do really enjoy my role, as I have an interest in Britain’s industrial history so being able to speak to clients about their role in it is particularly compelling to me.  As for challenges, due to the age of the clients we deal with at the NAH and the length of time passed, it can sometimes be quite challenging to get the information we require.

Any sports or hobbies?

I like to go to the gym 4 or 5 times a week. I also dabble in ballroom dance, I’ve been dancing on and off for about 5 years. My favourite dances are lindy-hop and jive.

What’s your favourite book?

In terms of reading, I actually spend more time reading The Economist, but if I had to choose a book, it would be Animal Farm.

What’s your favourite TV series?

Impractical Jokers, it’s brilliant, trust me

Favourite animal?

The mighty platypus, as it’s two animals in one!

Favourite food?

Domino’s Meateor (the one with the BBQ base).

Favourite season?

Probably Spring, as I enjoy the days getting longer.

Favourite place you’ve been to?

Hmmmm, Jerusalem. I spent about 5 days there. I was quite young but we got to see a lot of ancient monuments.

If you could have a superpower, what would it be?

The ability to shape-shift so I could do so much evil stuff with that power.

What’s something you’re proud of?

Probably my driving test…because:

1st test: 3 majors, 12 minors

2nd test: 3 majors, 13 minors – yes, I got worse

3rd test: PASS!!

What’s something you can’t live without?

My dog, Barra who is a 1 year old black Labrador.

Do you have any big ambitions?

To get my dog in the newsletter, so I’ve achieved that!

But on a serious note, having worked for Birchall Blackburn Law, I’ve now developed an interest in the legal field and I am now currently in the process of applying to complete a Graduate Diploma in Law.